Sign up
  • Home
  • Productivity
  • App tutorials

How to Delete a Repository in GitHub

App tutorials

1 min read

How to Delete a Repository in GitHub

By Khamosh Pathak · June 10, 2019
github-delete-repository primary img

GitHub is a popular option for showcasing your projects online, and creating new repositories for side projects can get pretty addictive. If you find yourself with one-too-many repositories in your account and you want to simplify your profile, read on to learn how to delete a repository in GitHub.

Warnings About Deleting a Repository in GitHub

You can delete any repository or fork if you're the organization owner or if you have admin permissions for that repository or fork. A couple things to keep in mind, though:

  • Deleting a fork does not have any effect on the upstream repository. Deleting a private repository will delete all associated forks, but deleting a public repository will not have any effect on the forks.

  • Deleting a repository will remove all wikis, issues, and comments associated with the repository. Once deleted, there is no way to restore a repository. Don't say we didn't warn you.

How to Delete a Repository in GitHub

To start the deletion process, open GitHub, and log in to your account.

Click on your profile icon from the top-right, and select Your repositories.

Click Your Resositories

From this page, find the repository you want to delete, and click on the title. Then, locate the toolbar at the top and click the Settings tab.

Settings tab

Scroll all the way to the bottom of the page until you see the Danger Zone section. Here, click Delete this repository.

Click Delete this repository

You'll now see a pop up asking if you're sure you want to delete the repository. Enter the name of the repository in the text box and click the I understand the consequences, delete this repository button.

Are you sure pop-up

If you're not sure about deleting all data, you can try archiving the repository instead. From the same Danger Zone section, select Archive this repository. This will put the repository into a read-only mode, but other users will still be able to fork it. You can then always go back to the repository's settings page and click on Unarchive this repository to bring it back to life.

Once you delete the repository, you'll be back on the GitHub home page, and a banner at the top will inform you that the repository was successfully deleted.

Want to learn more about GitHub? Check out our GitHub overview for tutorials and ways to integrate GitHub with 1,500+ other apps.

Get productivity tips delivered straight to your inbox

We’ll email you 1/wk, and never share your information.

Khamosh Pathak picture

Khamosh Pathak

Khamosh Pathak is a technology writer specializing in simplifying consumer technology for the everyday user. He’s on a mission to help users get the most out of their technology products, whether it’s hardware or software.

tags
mentioned apps

Related articles

Improve your productivity automatically. Use Zapier to get your apps working together.

Sign upSee how it works